如果您经营企业或管理大型项目,那么您就会知道多用户环境的重要性。在本文中,我想提供一些技巧和窍门,说明如何使用WordPress的内置工具和一些高级功能来安全地操作网站 MyKinsta 为您提供。

多用户环境的好处

访问具有不同用户级别的软件的功能有两个主要好处– 安全方便.

如果只有一个用户对您的托管帐户拥有所有权级别的访问权限,而所有其他用户的权限都减少了,那么您可以减轻很大的风险。每个用户都可以访问他们所需的内容,仅此而已。

对用户的信任只是问题的一部分。每个用户都有可能影响任何服务(主要是电子邮件)的第三方登录。如果有人入侵受信任的员工的电子邮件,他们可能会破坏您的应用程序。

为了方便起见,为每个人提供所需的访问权限可以简化他们的工作。如果给用户 开票 访问MyKinsta后,他们将完全无法访问网站,分析和其他数据。他们只看到与帐单相关的项目,例如公司设置和发票。降低噪音可以使计费用户更轻松地完成工作。这在代理机构情况下也很方便,在这种情况下,您的会计师不必访问站点详细信息。

托管和WordPress帐户

托管WordPress托管 可能与其他应用程序有些不同,因为您在 两个截然不同的软件系统.

访问托管仪表板(MyKinsta (对于Kinsta),通常应将其限制为比访问您的访问权限小的用户组 WordPress管理员。您可能会有数十位作家,校对者,编辑和 开发商 但在大多数情况下,他们并不需要全部访问您的托管环境。

在MyKinsta中设置好的多用户系统

在本节中,我们将通过MyKinsta给您一些建议,但是一般原则可以应用于任何托管环境。在MyKinsta中,我们提供 公司现场 用户。公司级别的用户可以访问公司级别的信息,而站点级别的用户只能访问单个站点。

我们在公司级别提供四个用户角色。

  1. 公司管理员 有权访问所有内容,包括所有网站。
  2. 公司开发人员 可以管理所有网站,但看不到公司账单或设置。
  3. 公司帐单 用户只能访问公司设置和帐单信息,而不能访问网站。
  4. 一种 公司所有者 具有与公司管理员相同的权限,并具有请求关闭帐户的附加功能。

对于网站级别的用户,我们提供两种用户角色。

  1. 网站管理员 可以访问已分配站点的所有环境(实时和暂存)。
  2. 网站开发人员 只能访问 舞台环境 用于分配的站点。

有关我们的用户级别的更多信息,请参阅关于以下内容的知识库文章: 我的Kinsta角色如何工作.

公司级用户

考虑到这一点,您可以为用户设置正确的访问权限,这是我们建议的建议:

  • 如果您拥有公司,则可以设计 公司所有者。这是一个特殊的名称,可让您删除公司。
  • 如果您有一位值得信赖的经理,例如您的主要业务合作伙伴或首席运营官,则可以聘请他们 公司管理员 这样他们就可以为您管理业务。
  • 您的会计师或CFO可以设置为 公司帐单 用户访问 发票 以及其他与财务相关的数据。
  • 如果您有主要开发人员或CTO,则可以聘请他们 公司开发人员。他们将能够管理所有站点的实时和临时环境,而不必担心公司详细信息或发票。

网站级别的用户

根据您的业务设置方式,您将希望以不同的方式邀请网站级别的用户。以下是一些要考虑的方案:

  • 如果您是一家提供全方位服务的代理机构,则为他们管理客户网站的各个方面 您可能根本不需要网站级别的用户。如果您有几个开发人员在您所有的站点上工作,那么可能值得将他们变成所有公司开发人员。
  • 如果您有一个庞大的团队来管理数百个站点,那么最好只授予特定用户访问您站点的一部分的权限。这可以通过给 网站管理员 要么 网站开发人员 访问权限,具体取决于您是否要提供对实时和登台环境的访问权限。
  • 如果您正在培训开发人员加入您的团队,则可以给他们 网站开发人员 访问您的网站。这将允许他们仅管理登台环境。所犯的任何错误均不会对实时站点产生影响。
  • 如果您拥有网站并刚刚雇用了开发人员,则可以给他们 网站开发人员 直到您对他们的工作感到满意为止。您也可以将他们的访问权限保持在该级别。完成后,您可以简单地 一键推动您的暂存环境。然后,您的开发人员可以使用暂存环境继续在下一个版本上工作

要了解有关MyKinsta用户角色的更多信息,请深入了解我们 知识库文章.

高级用法

我们添加了一些批量操作,以确保您可以在尽可能短的时间内完成所有设置。最重要的两个是 将多个用户添加到一个站点 以及如何 从网站中删除用户。请参阅链接以获取描述和视频。

使用WordPress用户角色

如果同时使用MyKinsta的多用户功能和WordPress的内置角色功能,则可以大大降低风险。上面的相同一般建议也适用于WordPress。默认情况下,WordPress提供以下角色:

  • 管理员
  • 编辑
  • 作者
  • 贡献者
  • 订户

在这篇文章中,我们会给您一个很好的解释。简而言之:管理员可以执行任何操作。编辑者可以管理所有帖子,而作者只能管理自己的帖子。贡献者可以撰写和管理自己的帖子,但不能发布。订阅者只能管理其个人资料。

在Kinsta,由于发布是由营销团队完成的,因此我们为作者提供了贡献者的角色。一些作者,特别是那些我们 非英语网站西班牙语博客 可能会担任编辑者角色。这是因为他们可能需要对帖子进行少量修改,而由于语言障碍,我们本来不能这样做。即便如此,这些还是值得信赖的合作伙伴,即使比安全漏洞更可打错字眼。

管理员特权仅授予几个人,以确保我们始终有在线人员可以根据需要管理所有设置。

如果您需要修改默认角色或想要创建自己的角色,则可以通过自定义代码或类似插件的方式进行 用户角色编辑器。这些方法使您可以对整个网站进行精细控制。

进一步的良好做法

角色和权限与公司中人员的等级无关。不要因为您是首席执行官而坚持到处都拥有一个活跃使用的管理员帐户。换句话说:不要让你的自我决定你的权限。

在Kinsta,我们使用 G套房1密码。 G Suite非常适合在紧急情况下重置任何公司电子邮件帐户的密码,而1Password非常适合存储登录凭证-包括 两因素验证码。这样,如果经理确实需要,他就可以访问大多数帐户,而不必为我们使用的每项服务操作管理帐户。

定期进行安全扫描。组织变化很快,而忘记从项目中删除某人并不少见。安全扫描确保一切都是最新且安全的。在网站上,我们每两个月进行一次快速扫描。如果具有作者角色的用户已有一段时间没有写任何帖子,我们将其设为贡献者。如果他们再次开始写信,他们会通知我们,然后我们可以决定是否进行更新。

MyKinsta多用户的未来

我们根据用户体验团队进行的采访,从头开始构建了多用户功能。我们解决了最常见的情况,并认为我们做了让每个用户都喜欢的事情。就像我们改进了其他系统一样,我们将继续倾听反馈并改善MyKinsta的这一方面。

如果您有任何想法,想法或意见让我们知道,我们对满足代理商的需求特别感兴趣。登录到 MyKinsta 或抢 我们的计划之一 现在开始。现成的所有计划都启用了多用户。

If you operate a business or manage large projects you know how important a multi-user environment can be. In this post, I’d like to give some tips and tricks on how you can operate a website safely using WordPress’ built-in tools and some advanced features MyKinsta offers you.

The Benefits Of Multi-User Environments

There are two main benefits that arise from the ability to access software with different user levels – security and convenience.

If only one user has ownership-level access to your hosting account while all the other users have reduced permissions you are mitigating a large portion of risk. Every user has access to what they need and nothing more.

Trust in your users is only part of the issue. Each user has third-party logins that could affect any service – chiefly their email. If someone hacks a trusted employee’s email they could disrupt your application.

As for convenience, giving everyone the access they require can ease their job. If you give a user Billing access in MyKinsta they will not have access to sites, analytics and other data at all. They just see billing related items like company settings and invoices. Reducing the noise allows billing users to do their jobs more easily. This is also handy in an agency situation where your accountant shouldn’t necessarily have access to site details.

Hosting And WordPress Accounts

Managed WordPress hosting can be a little different from other applications because you are operating under two distinct and different software systems.

Access to your hosting dashboard (MyKinsta for Kinsta) should usually be restricted to a much smaller set of users than access to your WordPress admin. You may have scores of writers, proofreaders, editors and developers but in most cases, they won’t all need access to your hosting environment.

Setting Up A Good Multi-User System In MyKinsta

In this section, we’ll give you some recommendations through MyKinsta but the general principles can be applied to any hosting environment. In MyKinsta we offer Company and Site users. Company-level users can access company-level information while site-level users have access to individual sites only.

We offer four user roles at the company level.

  1. Company Administrators have access to everything, including all sites.
  2. Company Developers can manage all websites but don’t see company billing or settings.
  3. Company Billing users only have access to company settings and billing information, and do not have access to sites.
  4. A Company Owner has the same permissions as Company Administrators with the added capability to request account closure.

For site level users, we offer two user roles.

  1. Site administrators have access to all environments (live and staging) for assigned sites.
  2. Site developers only have access to staging environments for assigned sites.

For more information about our user levels take a look at our Knowledge Base article about how my Kinsta roles work.

Company-Level Users

With that in mind you can set up your users with the correct accesses, here’s what we recommend:

  • If you own the company you are designed the Company Owner. This is a special designation which allows you to delete your company.
  • If you have a trusted manager such as your main business partner or COO you can make them Company Administrators so they can manage your business for you.
  • Your accountant or CFO can be set as Company Billing users to access invoices and other finance-related data.
  • If you have a main developer or a CTO you can make them Company Developers. They will be able to manage both the live and staging environments for all sites without needing to worry about company details or invoices.

Site-Level Users

Depending on how your business is set up you’ll want to invite site-level users differently. Here are some scenarios to consider:

  • If you are a full-service agency managing all aspects of client sites for them you may not need site-level users at all. If you have a couple of devs working on all your sites it may be worth making them all Company Developers.
  • If you have a huge team tending to hundreds of sites it may be a good idea to give specific users access only to a subset of your sites. This can be done by giving Site Administrator or Site Developer access, depending on whether you want to provide access to both live and staging environments.
  • If you are training a developer to join your team you could give them Site Developer access to your sites. This would allow them to manage staging environments only. Any mistakes made will not have an effect on live sites.
  • If you own a site and have just hired a developer you can give them Site Developer access until you are happy with their work. You could also keep their access at that level. When finished you can simply push your staging environment to live with one click. Your developer can then continue work on the next version using the staging environment

To learn more about MyKinsta user roles, check out our in-depth knowledgebase article.

Advanced Usage

We’ve added a couple of bulk actions to make sure you can get everything set up in as little time as possible. The two most important ones are adding multiple users to a site and how to remove users from sites. See the links for descriptions and videos.

Using WordPress User Roles

If you use MyKinsta’s multi-user feature in tandem with WordPress’ built-in roles feature you are greatly reducing risk. The same general advice from above applies to WordPress. By default WordPress offers the following roles:

  • Administrator
  • Editor
  • Author
  • Contributor
  • Subscriber

In this post, we give you a good explanation of what each one does. In a nutshell: administrators can do anything. Editors can manage all posts while authors can only manage their own. Contributors can write and manage their own posts but can’t publish. Subscribers can only manage their profile.

At Kinsta we give our authors the contributor role because publishing is done by the marketing team. Some authors, particularly those on our non-English sites like the Spanish blog may receive the editor role. This is because they may need to do small edits to posts which we couldn’t do otherwise due to language barriers. Even so, these are trusted partners, a typo if preferable to a security breach.

Administrator privileges are only given to a couple of people to make sure we have someone online at all times who can manage all settings if needed.

If you need to modify the default roles or want to create your own you can do so via custom code or plugins like User Role Editor. These methods give you granular control over your whole website.

Further Good Practices

Roles and permissions have nothing to do with a person’s hierarchy in a company. Don’t insist on having an actively used admin account everywhere because you are the CEO. In other words: don’t let your ego dictate your permissions.

At Kinsta we use G Suite and 1Password. G Suite is great for being able to reset passwords to any company email account in an emergency and 1Password is great for storing login credentials – including two-factor authentication codes. This way if a manager really needs to he can gain access to most accounts without having to operate an administrative account for each service we use.

Make regular security sweeps. Organizations change quickly and forgetting to remove someone from a project is not uncommon. Security sweeps ensure that everything is current and secured. On the website, we do a quick sweep every couple of months. If a user with the author role hasn’t written any posts for a while we’ll make them a contributor. If they start writing again they’ll let us know and we can me a decision about the update then.

The Future Of MyKinsta Multi-User

We built the multi-user feature from the ground up based on interviews conducted by our UX team. We solved the most common cases that came up and we think we’ve made something that every user will enjoy. We’ll continue to listen to feedback and improve this corner of MyKinsta, just like we have improved other systems.

We’re particularly interested in catering to the needs of agencies, if you have any thoughts, ideas or comments let us know. Log into MyKinsta or grab one of our plans now to get started. Multi-user is enabled on all our plans out-of-the-box.