電子郵件是一種有效的方法,可以吸引您的目標受眾並擴大客戶群。 近60% 的用戶說,營銷電子郵件會影響他們的購買。但是,隨著在線隱私和保護法的收緊,將電子郵件發送到收件人的收件箱變得越來越困難。

如果您的電子郵件最終出現在用戶的垃圾郵件文件夾中,請不要擔心。通過跟隨一些 簡單的最佳做法,您不僅可以確保您的電子郵件能夠到達收件人,還可以鼓勵更高的打開率並產生更大的影響。

在本文中,我們將探討為什麼電子郵件最終會成為垃圾郵件,以及您可以如何處理。

有很多方面需要解決,所以讓我們開始吧!

為什麼垃圾郵件是電子郵件營銷人員的問題

估計表明多達 60 十億 垃圾郵件 將於2019年至2023年之間每天發送。很顯然,用戶不喜歡這種垃圾郵件氾濫。但是,這也是電子郵件營銷人員的主要問題。取決於 電子郵件的20% 永遠不會進入收件人的收件箱,從而阻止您吸引受眾。

通過電子郵件傳遞的平均投資回報率(ROI)為 122%,請務必盡量減少 您的 消息在那百分之二十。每封垃圾郵件都會浪費您的錢,無論是電子郵件本身還是其他任何東西 潛在轉換 它可能已經生成。

幸運的是,您可以做很多事情 使您的郵件遠離垃圾郵件文件夾,而且大部分內容都很簡單。在下一部分中,我們將研究一些電子郵件最常見的垃圾郵件原因,並了解如何避免它們。


/ *點擊鳴叫* /
正文a.novashare-ctt {
顯示:塊;
背景:#00abf0;
邊距:30px自動;
填充:20px 20px 20px 15px;
顏色:#ffffff;
文字修飾:無!重要;
box-shadow:無!重要;
-webkit-box-shadow:無!重要;
-moz-box-shadow:無!重要;
邊框:無;
左邊框:5px實心#00abf0;
}
正文a.novashare-ctt:hover {
顏色:#ffffff;
左邊框:5px實心#008cc4;
}
正文a.novashare-ctt:visited {
顏色:#ffffff;
}
正文a.novashare-ctt * {
指針事件:無;
}
正文a.novashare-ctt .novashare-ctt-tweet {
顯示:塊;
font-size:18px;
行高:27px;
底邊距:10px;
}
正文a.novashare-ctt .novashare-ctt-cta-container {
顯示:塊;
溢出:隱藏;
}
正文a.novashare-ctt .novashare-ctt-cta {
浮動:正確;
}
正文a.novashare-ctt.novashare-ctt-cta-left .novashare-ctt-cta {
向左飄浮;
}
正文a.novashare-ctt .novashare-ctt-cta-text {
font-size:16px;
行高:16px;
垂直對齊:中間;
}
正文a.novashare-ctt .novashare-ctt-cta-icon {
左邊距:10px;
顯示:inline-block;
垂直對齊:中間;
}
正文a.novashare-ctt .novashare-ctt-cta-icon svg {
垂直對齊:中間;
高度:18px;
}
/ *簡單+簡單備用主題* /
正文a.novashare-ctt.novashare-ctt-simple {
背景:無;
填充:10px 0px 10px 20px;
顏色:初始;
}
正文a.novashare-ctt.novashare-ctt-simple-alt {
背景:#f9f9f9;
填充:20px;
顏色:初始;
}
正文a.novashare-ctt.novashare-ctt-simple:hover,正文a.novashare-ctt.novashare-ctt-simple-alt:hover {
左邊框:5px實心#008cc4;
}
正文a.novashare-ctt.novashare-ctt-simple .novashare-ctt-cta,正文a.novashare-ctt.novashare-ctt-simple-alt .novashare-ctt-cta {
顏色:#00abf0;
}
正文a.novashare-ctt.novashare-ctt-simple:hover .novashare-ctt-cta,正文a.novashare-ctt.novashare-ctt-simple-alt:hover .novashare-ctt-cta {
顏色:#008cc4;
}

為什麼我的電子郵件會成為垃圾郵件? (9個潛在原因)

原因有很多 電子郵件可能被識別為垃圾郵件,從觸發垃圾郵件過濾器的關鍵字到錯誤的權限。

讓我們逐一介紹一些最常見的情況,並探討如何確保郵件進入用戶的收件箱。

1.您的收件人將您的電子郵件標記為垃圾郵件

您的電子郵件最終成為垃圾郵件的第一個也是最明顯的原因是,您的收件人將其放在了那裡。

即使你 內容很濃 並且收件人明確允許您與他們聯繫,但他們仍可能決定將您的電子郵件標記為垃圾郵件,以清除收件箱中混亂的郵件。

他們可能還忘記了為什麼他們首先訂閱您的列表,或者只是犯了一個錯誤。

Reporting email message as spam

將電子郵件報告為垃圾郵件

不幸的是,如果用戶對您的郵件進行了足夠多的標記,則可能導致垃圾郵件過濾器標記您的地址並開始自動將郵件發送到垃圾郵件。

這意味著您的郵件可能最終看起來像垃圾郵件,即使對於那些 還沒 過去曾明確標記過您。特別是在 郵箱,Outlook,Yahoo和其他具有大量AI驅動算法的服務。

電子郵件寄出後,您將無法採取其他措施來阻止某人將您的電子郵件標記為垃圾郵件。

你什麼 能夠 這樣做是為了確保您的內容是一流的,並遵循其他最佳做法,以避免用戶將您的電子郵件視為垃圾郵件。這樣可以最大程度地減少有人故意標記您的通信的機會。在以下各節中,我們將介紹其中一些策略。

2.您沒有遵循HTML最佳做法

儘管純文本電子郵件非常簡單明了,但對於像電子商務商店這樣的某些企業來說,它們可能不是一個可行的選擇,因為與包含品牌,圖像和其他HTML元素的電子郵件相比,純文本電子郵件可能會降低參與度。

但是,當包括 郵件中的HTML,請務必遵循一些簡單的規則,以確保它們不會最終出現在垃圾郵件文件夾中。

以下是一些有關電子郵件的HTML最佳做法, 根據Mailchimp:

  • 電子郵件的最大寬度應保持在600到800像素之間。這樣可以確保它足夠大以便於閱讀,同時在電子郵件客戶端預覽窗格中也表現良好。
  • 假設任何圖像都將被電子郵件客戶端阻止,並且如果媒體元素中包含關鍵信息,則用戶可能看不到關鍵信息。
  • 保持您的代碼盡可能乾淨整潔,尤其是 的CSS。此外,請完全避免使用JavaScript和Flash。這些可能被視為垃圾郵件過濾器的攻擊媒介,而且許多電子郵件客戶端仍然不支持它們。
  • 確保您的消息適合移動設備使用。實際上,通常, 以移動為先的理念設計一切 這些日子。這意味著拇指友好的按鈕,小 圖片 這樣不會使移動網絡過載,並且 電子郵件安全字體 在小屏幕上可讀。
  • 在字體方面,您還需要確保選擇的字體是 跨平台且清晰易讀。 Arial,Verdana和Georgia都是不錯的選擇。

最後,最好製作電子郵件的大部分內容文本,並儘量減少包含的HTML數量。您公司的品牌形象,也許是流行色彩,可以為您帶來精彩的互動體驗,而無需付出太多。

3.您的主題行具有誤導性或包含垃圾郵件觸發器

主題行通常是用戶對您的消息的第一印象,因此它們需要引起注意並吸引讀者打開電子郵件。但是,他們也必須誠實。一個誤導性的主題不僅是禮節不佳,而且 違法,根據CAN-SPAM Act。

超過一半的電子郵件受訪者表示感到受騙或被欺騙以根據主題欄打開電子郵件, 根據石蕊屬。這是將您的電子郵件放入垃圾郵件文件夾的快速方法,甚至可能導致某些用戶退訂。

email headline re

以RE開頭但未回复的郵件通常被標記為垃圾郵件

誤導性主題行是什麼樣的?這裡有些例子:

  • RE或FW。 除非您實際上在回答某件事,否則請勿以“ RE”開頭主題行。這是一個公然的把戲,也是一種快速獲得退訂的方法。同樣,使用“ FW”可以使人認為他們認識您(誤導的定義)。
  • 個人訊息或主要問題。 諸如“我是否將手機留在您家嗎?”之類的主題。或“您聽說過某某東西嗎?”可能會使用戶質疑他們是否知道發件人。
  • 過於聳人聽聞的主張。 一些主題行不一定是謊言,但仍然太過分了。通常,您要確保主題行與讀者在電子郵件中找到的內容匹配。

您的主題行也應該是專業的。這意味著沒有大寫字母,而且絕對沒有 拼寫或語法錯誤。免費工具 文法 可以自動檢查您的拼寫,語法和標點符號,並向您警告可能會警告垃圾郵件過濾器的任何問題。

現在您知道要避免的主題行,但是您仍然需要吸引訂戶打開您的消息。 Hubspot有一些 優秀的建議 用於創建頭條新聞:

  • 從動作動詞開始。
  • 產生緊迫感和重要性(但同樣,不要誤導)。
  • 提出一個有趣或令人信服的問題。

最後,請記住:無論您的主題行最終是什麼,都要確保內容能夠實現其承諾。否則,您有損害聲譽的風險。

4.您沒有收件人的許可

這很簡單:在線隱私法律例如 GDPR 要求您必須獲得收件人的明確許可才能向他們發送電子郵件。這意味著您不能簡單地購買電子郵件列表來快速訪問一堆聯繫人(由於其他原因,這也不是一個好主意,包括定位不佳)。

但是,這也意味著即使提供 他們的電子郵件地址 在您的網站上需要明確告訴您,他們想接收您的電子郵件,特別是如果他們是歐盟公民。在帳戶創建過程中或您的帳戶上可以採用免責聲明的形式 聯繫表,也可以是用戶需要打勾以表明其意願的複選框。

雖然這不一定 需要 在美國,這仍然是一個好習慣。人們最近收到了很多電子郵件,如果您的郵件在不要求的時候突然出現在某人的收件箱中,則很有可能被標記為垃圾郵件。

5.您的內容觸發垃圾郵件過濾器

垃圾郵件過濾器檢查某些單詞(或單詞組合)。如果電子郵件獲得了足夠的點擊量或除此列表中的其他某些項目之外還包含這些詞,則該電子郵件可能最終位於垃圾郵件文件夾中。 垃圾郵件觸發關鍵字 可以包括:

  • “自由”
  • “最低價格”
  • “額外收入”
  • “快錢”
  • “免費”
  • 連續多個感嘆號或美元符號
  • 帶有不必要空格或標點符號的單詞
  • 全部大寫的單詞

通常,這些詞要么高度以銷售為導向,要么明確設計為繞過垃圾郵件過濾器(例如多餘的空格)。雖然使用其中一些不一定是您的消息的死刑判決,但使用太多 能夠 是。

spam headline keywords

過於“ salesy”的語言和過多的關鍵字會觸發垃圾郵件過濾器

當然,其中一些關鍵字很難避免,尤其是在發送電子商務或金融電子郵件時。為了解決這個問題,您可以使用多種語言,並嘗試使您對事物的措辭更具創造力。

厭倦了您的WordPress網站出現問題?通過Kinsta獲得最好,最快的託管支持! 查看我們的計劃

最重要的是,避免使用棘手的或“俗氣的”語言,並確保您遵循已證明的最佳實踐來編寫我們在此處重點介紹的電子郵件內容,是明智的。

6.您不包括退訂鏈接

美國的CAN-SPAM等法律明確規定您的電子郵件 必須 包括明確的退訂方式。此外,如果有人單擊取消訂閱鏈接,則需要在10天之內處理該請求,並且不能強迫用戶跳過任何麻煩。

儘管這似乎是一件壞事(為什麼要給人們退訂的機會?),但實際上,如果您的內容很強大,它可能會產生相反的效果。為人們提供一種輕鬆獲得您的訂戶列表的方法,這表明您的品牌值得信賴。

另一方面,隱藏或根本不提供退訂選項是讓人們沮喪的肯定方法。這也可能導致對您的新聞通訊的負面新聞(單詞在互聯網上快速傳播),並且通常以錯誤的方式摩擦人們。

7.您的“發件人”信息有誤或誤導

您的電子郵件可能最終成為垃圾郵件的主要原因是不正確的“發件人”信息。 “發件人”行(告訴收件人發送電子郵件的收件人)必須準確無誤。在某些情況下,您網站上的工具(例如聯繫表單插件)可能是 發送“欺騙”電子郵件 帶有“發件人”詳細信息,可觸發垃圾郵件警報。

如果您的聯繫表單電子郵件被標記為垃圾郵件,則修復通常非常簡單。您需要確保聯繫表單設置中的“發件人”字段具有您網站的管理員地址,而不是表單中輸入的電子郵件地址。如果您有聯繫表向您發送電子郵件通知,還請確保“發件人”和“收件人”中使用的地址不同。

8.您尚未設置電子郵件身份驗證

您的電子郵件的“發件人”信息可能錯誤的另一個常見原因是,通過以下服務未正確設置電子郵件身份驗證 Mailchimp (或以下之一 其替代品):

身份驗證授權服務代表您發送電子郵件,因此它們將與您的電子郵件一起顯示 域名 附件,即使它們是由第三方發送的。如果您的身份驗證設置不正確,您的電子郵件最終可能直接進入收件人的垃圾郵件箱。

有幾種不同類型的電子郵件身份驗證,主要是 域密鑰標識的郵件(DKIM), 發件人政策框架(SPF)和DMARC。

DKIM提供了加密密鑰和數字簽名來驗證電子郵件,而SPF則通過根據批准的IP列表驗證發件人的IP地址來工作。 DMARC有所不同,它要求啟用其他兩個,並允許發件人指示其電子郵件受DKIM或SPF保護。

如果您使用自動電子郵件服務,但在傳遞方面遇到問題,則首先要進行身份驗證。如果您在這方面需要幫助,我們會提供方便的文章,詳細介紹瞭如何 設置電子郵件驗證.

9.您發送的附件過多

附件是 巨大 大多數垃圾郵件過濾器的警告標誌。這是因為文件很容易成為惡意軟件和病毒的媒介。一般的經驗法則是根本不發送任何附件,尤其是在 時事通訊。如果確實需要發送附件,請確保收件人提前知道,並儘量減少附加到一封電子郵件中的文件數。

如果您必須將文檔或文件附加到電子郵件,更安全的選擇是首先將其上傳到雲存儲服務,例如 Google雲端硬碟 要么 投寄箱。然後,您可以在電子郵件中包含指向該文件的鏈接。這樣,您的郵件就不會觸發任何垃圾郵件過濾器。

概要

導致您的電子郵件最終落入垃圾郵件文件夾的原因有很多,從主題行不當到觸發垃圾郵件過濾器的關鍵字。無論出於何種原因,解決該問題以使您的投資回報率最大化並在受眾群體中保持可信賴的聲譽至關重要。

通過快速解決這些問題並實施一些行之有效的最佳實踐,您可以輕鬆地將郵件排除在垃圾郵件之外。最好的是,這些相同的做法也可以增加您郵件的影響力,並希望 將更多的訂戶轉化為客戶.

您對以上概述的電子郵件營銷最佳實踐有任何疑問嗎?讓我們在下面的評論部分中知道!

Email is a powerful way to reach your target audience and grow your customer base. Nearly 60 percent of users say that marketing emails influence their purchases. However, as online privacy and protection laws tighten, getting your emails into recipients’ inboxes has become tougher.

If your emails are ending up in users’ spam folders, don’t worry. By following some simple best practices, you can not only make sure your emails reach their recipients, but also encourage higher open rates and make a stronger impact.

In this article, we’ll explore why emails end up in spam and what you can do about it.

That’s a lot of ground to cover, so let’s dive in!

Why Spam Is a Problem for Email Marketers

Estimates indicate that as many as 60 billion spam emails will be sent every day between 2019 and 2023. Obviously, users don’t appreciate that flood of spam. However, this is also a major problem for email marketers. Up to 20 percent of emails will never make it to the recipient’s inbox, preventing you from reaching your audience.

With email delivering an average Return on Investment (ROI) of 122 percent, it’s important to minimize the chance that your messages are in that 20 percent. Every email that lands in spam is wasted money on your part, both for the email itself and any potential conversions it might have generated.

Fortunately, there’s a lot you can do to keep your messages out of spam folders, and most of it is fairly straightforward. In the next section, we’ll look at some of the most common reasons email goes to spam, and see how you can avoid them.


/* Click to Tweet */
body a.novashare-ctt {
display: block;
background: #00abf0;
margin: 30px auto;
padding: 20px 20px 20px 15px;
color: #ffffff;
text-decoration: none !important;
box-shadow: none !important;
-webkit-box-shadow: none !important;
-moz-box-shadow: none !important;
border: none;
border-left: 5px solid #00abf0;
}
body a.novashare-ctt:hover {
color: #ffffff;
border-left: 5px solid #008cc4;
}
body a.novashare-ctt:visited {
color: #ffffff;
}
body a.novashare-ctt * {
pointer-events: none;
}
body a.novashare-ctt .novashare-ctt-tweet {
display: block;
font-size: 18px;
line-height: 27px;
margin-bottom: 10px;
}
body a.novashare-ctt .novashare-ctt-cta-container {
display: block;
overflow: hidden;
}
body a.novashare-ctt .novashare-ctt-cta {
float: right;
}
body a.novashare-ctt.novashare-ctt-cta-left .novashare-ctt-cta {
float: left;
}
body a.novashare-ctt .novashare-ctt-cta-text {
font-size: 16px;
line-height: 16px;
vertical-align: middle;
}
body a.novashare-ctt .novashare-ctt-cta-icon {
margin-left: 10px;
display: inline-block;
vertical-align: middle;
}
body a.novashare-ctt .novashare-ctt-cta-icon svg {
vertical-align: middle;
height: 18px;
}
/* Simple + Simple Alternate Themes */
body a.novashare-ctt.novashare-ctt-simple {
background: none;
padding: 10px 0px 10px 20px;
color: initial;
}
body a.novashare-ctt.novashare-ctt-simple-alt {
background: #f9f9f9;
padding: 20px;
color: initial;
}
body a.novashare-ctt.novashare-ctt-simple:hover, body a.novashare-ctt.novashare-ctt-simple-alt:hover {
border-left: 5px solid #008cc4;
}
body a.novashare-ctt.novashare-ctt-simple .novashare-ctt-cta, body a.novashare-ctt.novashare-ctt-simple-alt .novashare-ctt-cta {
color: #00abf0;
}
body a.novashare-ctt.novashare-ctt-simple:hover .novashare-ctt-cta, body a.novashare-ctt.novashare-ctt-simple-alt:hover .novashare-ctt-cta {
color: #008cc4;
}

Why Are My Emails Going to Spam? (9 Potential Reasons)

There are numerous reasons emails might be identified as spam, ranging from keywords that trigger spam filters to incorrect permissions.

Let’s walk through some of the most common scenarios, and explore what you can do to make sure your messages land in users’ inboxes.

1. Your Recipients Marked Your Emails as Spam

The first and most obvious reason for your emails ending up in spam is because your recipients put them there.

Even if your content is strong and the recipient expressly gave you permission to contact them, they may still decide to mark your email as spam as a way to clean up a cluttered inbox.

They may also have forgotten why they subscribed to your list in the first place, or simply made a mistake.

Reporting email message as spam

Reporting email message as spam

Unfortunately, if enough of your messages get flagged by users, it can cause spam filters to flag your address and start sending your mail to spam automatically.

This means your messages may end up looking like spam, even to users who haven’t explicitly flagged you in the past. This is especially likely in Gmail, Outlook, Yahoo, and other services with heavily AI-driven algorithms.

Once the email ships, there’s not much you can do to prevent someone from marking your emails as spam.

What you can do is make sure your content is top-notch, and that you follow other best practices to avoid having your email perceived as spam by users. This can minimize the chance that someone will intentionally flag your communications. We’ll cover some of these strategies in the following sections.

2. You’re Not Following HTML Best Practices

While text-only emails are fairly straightforward, they might not be a viable option for some businesses like ecommerce stores as they may lead to lower engagement when compared to emails that include branding, images, and other HTML elements.

However, when including HTML in your messages, it’s important to follow some simple rules to ensure that they don’t end up in spam folders.

Here are some HTML best practices for email, according to Mailchimp:

  • Keep the maximum width of your email between 600 and 800 pixels. This ensures that it’s large enough to read easily, while also behaving well in email client preview panes.
  • Assume that any images will be blocked by email clients and that users may not see critical information if it’s contained within media elements.
  • Keep your code as clean and light as possible, particularly CSS. In addition, avoid JavaScript and Flash entirely. These may be seen as vectors for attack by spam filters, and many email clients don’t support them anyway.
  • Make sure your messages are mobile-friendly. In fact, it’s generally a good idea to design everything with a mobile-first philosophy these days. That means thumb-friendly buttons, small images that won’t overload mobile networks, and email-safe fonts that are readable on small screens.
  • When it comes to fonts, you’ll also want to make sure the ones you choose are cross-platform and clearly legible. Arial, Verdana, and Georgia are all solid options.

Finally, it’s a good idea to make most of your email’s content text, and minimize the amount of HTML you include. Your company branding and maybe a pop of color can do wonders for engagement, without going overboard.

3. Your Subject Lines Are Misleading or Contain Spam Triggers

Subject lines are typically the first impression a user gets of your message, so they need to grab attention and entice the reader to open the email. However, they also need to be honest. A misleading subject line isn’t just poor etiquette, it’s also against the law, according to the CAN-SPAM Act.

Over half of email respondents report feeling cheated or tricked into opening an email based on the subject line, according to Litmus. That’s a quick way to get your email tossed in the spam folder, and it may even lead some users to unsubscribe.

email headline re

Messages that begin with RE: but are not replies commonly get labeled as spam

What does a misleading subject line look like? Here are some examples:

  • RE or FW. Don’t start your subject lines with “RE” unless you’re actually replying to something. It’s a blatant trick and a quick way to earn an unsubscribe. Similarly, using “FW” can make the person think they know you (the definition of misleading).
  • Personal messages or leading questions. Subjects like “Did I leave my phone at your place?” or “Did you hear about so-and-so?” may make users question whether they know the sender.
  • Overly sensational claims. Some subject lines aren’t necessarily lies but are still a little too over-the-top. In general, you want to make sure that your subject line matches the content the reader will find in the email.

Your subject lines should also be professional. That means no TYPING IN ALL CAPS and definitely no spelling or grammar errors. The free tool Grammarly can check your spelling, grammar, and punctuation automatically, and alert you of any issues that may alert spam filters.

Now you know what subject lines to avoid, but you still need to entice subscribers to open your messages. Hubspot has some excellent recommendations for creating strong headlines:

  • Start with action verbs.
  • Create a sense of urgency and importance (but again, don’t be misleading).
  • Pose an interesting or compelling question.

Finally, remember: whatever your subject line ends up being, make sure the content delivers on its promise. Otherwise, you risk damaging your reputation.

4. You Don’t Have Permission From Your Recipients

This one is simple: online privacy laws like the GDPR require that you must have express permission from recipients in order to send them emails. That means you can’t simply purchase email lists to get quick access to a bunch of contacts (this isn’t a good idea for other reasons, as well, including poor targeting).

However, it also means that even users who provide their email addresses on your site need to explicitly tell you that they want to receive emails from you, especially if they’re a citizen of the EU. This can come in the form of a disclaimer during account creation or on your contact form, or it could be a checkbox that users need to tick to indicate their willingness.

While this isn’t necessarily required in the U.S., it’s still a good practice. People get a lot of emails these days,and if your messages start suddenly appearing in someone’s inbox when they didn’t ask for them, there’s a decent chance they may be marked as spam.

5. Your Content Triggers Spam Filters

Spam filters check for certain words (or combinations of words). If an email gets enough hits or contains those words in addition to some of the other items on this list, it can end up in spam folders. Spam trigger keywords can include:

  • “Free”
  • “Lowest price”
  • “Additional income”
  • “Easy money”
  • “No cost”
  • Multiple exclamation points or dollar signs in a row
  • Words with unnecessary spaces or punctuation
  • Words that are in ALL CAPS

In general, these are words that are either heavily sales-oriented or clearly designed to get around spam filters (such as the extra spaces). While using a handful of these isn’t necessarily a death sentence for your messages, using too many of them can be.

spam headline keywords

Overly ‘salesy’ language and too many keywords can trigger spam filters

Of course, some of these keywords are tough to avoid, especially if you’re sending ecommerce or financial emails. To get around this problem, you can use varied language and try to get creative about how you phrase things.

Tired of experiencing issues with your WordPress site? Get the best and fastest hosting support with Kinsta! Check out our plans

Above all, it’s smart to avoid pushy or “salesy” language and make sure you’re following proven best practices for writing email content we’re highlighting here.

6. You Don’t Include an Unsubscribe Link

Laws like CAN-SPAM in the U.S. clearly state that your emails must include a clear way to unsubscribe. Additionally, if someone does click on the unsubscribe link, you’ll need to process that request within 10 days, and you can’t force the user to jump through any hoops.

While this might seem like a bad thing (why would you want to give people the chance to unsubscribe?), it can actually have the opposite effect, provided that your content is strong. Giving people an easy way to get off your subscriber list shows that your brand is trustworthy.

On the other hand, hiding or simply not providing an unsubscribe option is a sure-fire way to frustrate people. It can also result in negative press about your newsletter (word travels fast on the internet), and generally rub people the wrong way.

7. Your ‘From’ Information Is Wrong or Misleading

A major reason that your emails may end up in spam is incorrect ‘From’ information. The ‘From’ line, the one that tells your recipients who sent the email, needs to be accurate and not misleading. In some cases, a tool on your site such as a contact form plugin might be sending ‘spoof’ emails with ‘From’ details that trigger spam alerts.

If your contact form emails are getting flagged as spam, the fix is usually pretty simple. You’ll want to make sure that the ‘From’ field in your contact form settings has the admin address for your site, rather than the email address entered into the form. If you’re having the contact form send you email notifications, also make sure the addresses used in ‘From’ and ‘To’ are different.

8. You Haven’t Set Up Email Authentication

Another common reason that your emails’ ‘From’ information may be wrong is when email authentication isn’t properly set up through a service like Mailchimp (or one of its alternatives):

Authentication authorizes the service to send emails on your behalf, so they’ll appear with your domain name attached even though they were sent by a third party. If your authentication isn’t set up properly, your emails can end up going directly to your recipients’ spam boxes.

There are a few different types of email authentication out there, with the main ones being DomainKey Identified Mail (DKIM), Sender Policy Framework (SPF), and DMARC.

DKIM provides an encryption key and digital signature to verify an email, while SPF works by verifying the IP address of the sender against a list of approved IPs. DMARC is a bit different, in that it requires the other two to be enabled and lets the sender indicate that their emails are protected by DKIM or SPF.

If you use an automated email service and you’re having problems with delivery, authentication is a good first thing to check. If you need help with this, we have a handy article detailing exactly how to set up email authentication.

9. You’re Sending Too Many Attachments

Attachments are a huge red flag for most spam filters. This is because files can be easy vectors for malware and viruses. The general rule of thumb is to simply not send any attachments at all, especially in newsletters. If you do need to send an attachment, make sure the recipient is aware ahead of time, and minimize the number of files you attach to a single email.

If you have to attach a document or file to an email, a safer bet is to first upload it to a cloud storage service like Google Drive or Dropbox. You can then include the link to the file in your email. That way, your message shouldn’t trigger any spam filters.

Summary

There are many reasons why your emails might end up in spam folders, from poor subject lines to keywords that trigger spam filters. Whatever the reason, it’s important to resolve the issue to maximize your return on investment and maintain a trustworthy reputation among your audience.

By addressing these problems quickly and implementing some proven best practices, you can easily keep your messages out of spam. Best of all, those same practices can also increase your messages’ impact, and hopefully convert more subscribers into customers.

Do you have any questions about the email marketing best practices outlined above? Let us know in the comments section below!